Friday, 19 August 2016

HASLINGDEN SPORT - The Tor Mile Race - Helmshore Annual Event

The late Derek Pilkington and I revived the Tor race on June 23rd 1958.  About 1000 spectators saw both senior and junior races. (see photos below)
Senior winner was - John A. Robinson (9 minutes, 10 seconds)
Junior winner - Stanley Rabin, aged 14 (9minutes, 33.8 seconds)
Start and finish at Barlow Terrace.

The race run during peace celebrations in 1919 and was from the Holme Field.

The Local History film, "Helmshore 1958", has shots of the race.

Chris Aspin

Tor Mile 1958 - Winner Johnny Robinson with Mayor Ben Fisher  (Click over to enlarge)
to the left hand side of JR is the runner-up Cyril Gregory of Helmshore.  Cyril's sister Veronica Gregory informs us that he now lives in South Africa.

Stan Raby winning Tor Mile 1958 (Click over to enlarge)
Photo: Kindly shared by Peter Shuttleworth and uploaded here on 19th August 2016

Christine Raby (20th August 2016) Stan's daughter confirms that he won the Tor Mile on 3 separate occasions and that she has his trophy cup in her possession.

Tor Mile Race – 22nd July 1963 (Click over to enlarge)

Presentation of cups by Mr. A. Bedford (2nd from Right), aged 89, at that time oldest member of Helmshore Local History Society.
Left: Brian Hall of Manchester and District Harriers, Winner of the Club Race.
Right: Michael Eastwood Winner of the Local Race.

Chris Aspin – Secretary of the Helmshore Local History Society.

Musbury Tor Mile 1963 - Last Man in Alan Schofield (Click to enlarge)